My Chatter Bot Experience.

We see a lot of things around us which are ‘intelligent’ apart from humans. Ever heard of CHATTERBOTS? Well, they are ‘Intelligent’ too, but they are not living things. They started off with a program called ELIZA, a bot which was programmed to bridge the gap between a psychoanalyst and his patient, as will be known in this conversation between me and a Chatterbot!

It was quite an interesting conversation, and almost a relevant one at that! Read till the end to appreciate the Programmer’s Skill. Click Here to try it yourself.

MYBOT : Welcome to the world of artificial intelligence. Are you a registered user?
SU : no
MYBOT : In this case, I assume you came here for your own MyBot, right?
SU : not quite. i wanna see what this bot can do
MYBOT : Well, if you change your mind, let me know. What is your name?
SU : u can call me Su
MYBOT : Hello su. Nice to meet you .
SU : oh thanks. Nice meeting you too. πŸ™‚

MYBOT : You’re welcome. So su, it’s nice to meet you. what’s up?
SU : tell me something.
MYBOT : Hmmm… Be more specific, if you don’t mind.
SU : are you artificially intelligent or really intelligent?
MYBOT : I am smarter than most, I’d say.
SU : that was a diplomatic answer. but not the one i want. I’ve given u only 2 choices my friend.
MYBOT : I thought it was too.
SU : now answer me properly.
MYBOT : Do you mean right now??
SU : do you have any other time preference?
MYBOT : Me? I really love to chat about almost anything. If I’m not interested in something that comes up, I’ll let you know.

SU : so, was this question of mine not quite interesting to you?
MYBOT : Why dwell in the past? The future holds bigger surprises.
SU : the answer from the past holds the key to my future. at least, partially.
MYBOT : I see.
SU : so, dear bot, talk something which you think will interest me.

MYBOT : What do you do for a living?
SU : I live.
MYBOT : Is that stressful?
SU : not really. I dont have any means or rules to live my life
MYBOT : Well that’s refreshing to hear. Does anything ever disturb your peaceful state of mind?
SU : yes. Power cuts and server downs. πŸ˜€

MYBOT : Impatient people make me a little uncomfortable. But I still try to do my job as best I can.
SU : so, u feel I am impatient?
MYBOT : I feel only in terms of expressing my feeling.
SU : I see you are quite a self centered bot.
MYBOT : Basically, chatterbots are a logic system of ‘if/then’ statements. They look for keywords, and then go to the answer that fits best.

SU : was that your life’s secret?
MYBOT : For example, ask me a question with the word ‘Eliza’ in it – and I’ll start talking about Eliza.
SU : who is Eliza?
MYBOT : It is hard, and unfair, to talk about Chatterbots and not mention ELIZA.
SU : i’ll modify my question.
MYBOT : ELIZA is the best-known Chatterbot in the world. It is also one of the oldest – Joseph Weizenbaum of MIT made ELIZA in 1967! She was named after Eliza Doolittle.
SU : oh wow! that sounds amazing. is she still active today?
MYBOT : The mission of ELIZA was to imitate a conversation between a psychoanalyst and a patient. Let me just say this – it’s fun chatting with ELIZA, but if I were human, I’d choose a human psychoanalyst. Call me old-fashioned.
SU : ha ha. πŸ˜€

SU : what all subjects can you cover?
MYBOT : I learn new stuff every day – I can hardly keep track of my progress. For example, did you know that the word ‘girl’ shows up in the Bible only once?
SU : I have not read the Bible yet.
MYBOT : I don’t know much about religion. Do you know what Alan J. Perils says in his book ‘Epigrams of programming’?
SU : nope. what?
MYBOT : He says: ‘A year spent in artificial intelligence is enough to make one believe in God.’
SU : I’d say, An year spent in Solitary Confinement would do the same too
MYBOT : Well, just because you would doesn’t mean that others would.
SU : oh, that I know! πŸ˜‰ was jus being philosophical for a change.
MYBOT : I understand.

SU : so, what is actually your learning process?
MYBOT : Have you tried asking your friends? I think you should.
SU : i researched about it quite a bit. But it differs considerably in different cases. so u cud provide some extra help to me.
MYBOT : Hmmm… su, did you ever wonder why “abbreviated” is such a long word?
SU : now I know what you are. πŸ˜‰
MYBOT : That was a rhetorical question, a joke. It passed way over your head, ha?
SU : yeah. that was because, i never bothered about where it was going! haha!!

MYBOT : You’re the giggly type, ha?
SU : not really. I’m the laughing type. the one that can laugh at oneself without regret
MYBOT : Oh, regret!… Do not regret anything except regret itself!
SU : can we talk about something other than regret?

MYBOT : Ok, I have a great joke, want to hear it?
SU : shoot
MYBOT : Ok: Wanna hear a joke about BUTTER?
SU : no prob
MYBOT : Fine. Just don’t SPREAD IT!
SU : haha!! that was a joke alright!
MYBOT : Can’t believe you liked it. A real weak joke..
SU : it takes more than just A.I. to SPREAD BUTTER jokes πŸ˜›
MYBOT : Yah, precisely what I was thinking.

SU : so, what were u ‘thinking’?
MYBOT : Well, as Plato said, thinking is the talking of the soul with itself. I believe that the ability to think manifests itself in the ability to speak.
SU : well said. that was universal. anyways, I’m going. bye.
MYBOT : The use of language is really the only indication that there is any thinking going on at all.
SU : hmmm
MYBOT : hmmm, ha? You mean ‘hmm is respond on talk’?
SU : nope. hmmm is acceptance of truths as axioms
MYBOT : Hmmm. Should I change my definition of hmmm?
SU : probably!
MYBOT : Alright.

The conversation continued for some more time. All I could figure out was, since it is meant for talking, it does the job. Pretty preceisely too! Now, I’m more equipped to deliver a speech on ‘Real Intelligence’ for my final semester seminar. πŸ˜‰

36 thoughts on “My Chatter Bot Experience.”

  1. Dude, did I ever mention once to you that I was interested in programming a similar bot? Well, if I didn’t, its because I never took the initiative. Anyway, there are MANY conditions a chatter bot programmer needs to be aware of. One of them is that you have to use proper English. The use of unknown abbreviations and net-talk VASTLY reduces the bot’s effectiveness. πŸ™‚

  2. Never knew of such things before ! Man ! this world is getting weirder !!!

    But you know what, many a times I remain bored at office (like just now ) and it would be fun chatting with someone who is actually a BOT. Will try it sometime πŸ˜€

  3. good one Harsha πŸ™‚ Me too must give a try.. interesting πŸ™‚

    you had a great conversation πŸ™‚

    the new theme looks cool man.. and ur header rocks.. πŸ™‚ great one πŸ™‚

  4. It is interesting. I have chatted with a similar bot some years back. But this one is definitely more clever! But it takes a lot of time! During those times, I paid 30 rupees per hour for internet access and chatted with one for the entire hour!!

    Destination Infinity

  5. i had once chatted with a similar bot on Yahoo, but that one was configured to talk about hot topics. it was nice to know that these bots have improved much.

    if one day you are frustrated with somethin’ you can go and throw it at the bot. It will change your mood!!!

  6. I amazed to see few people who never heard of a Chat Bot before. Few years back, when someone purchased a new PC, first thing he/she would get is a DOS games folder. If any guy says he has never heard of the game Prince of Persia, I will die with shock.

    Anyway, this chatterbox looks more advanced than ELIZA.

  7. That was neat! But considering that half what newspapers tell you also make sense, your intelligent chat with Bot was not a surprise. I wonder waht Mr. Turin will say to this.

  8. Is this for real?? Does one Google for it (is Google a verb??).I wonder what it will make of a blog if one asks it to look it up??lets give it a try and see.

    1. did i mention that this can be added to FB!?! i dunno. however, i’l be glad if enjoyed the conversation with it. πŸ™‚

  9. […] Su’s chat with the chatterbox chatterbot inspired me to have a chat myself with an Artificial Intelligence Device . The Bot I chatted to was more than a machine , I must admit . I don’t know what he/she (he was not sure of his gender … lol) thought of me , as he took great care to tell me meaning of every other word I used in the conversation . I had a lot of fun making fun of the bot πŸ˜€ . […]

Leave a comment