Hello Tweens!

So, after a long time of ten years, the digit in the tens’ place of my age is gonna change. On the last day of my teens, rather, on the transition from teens to tweens, i am writing this post to go down my memory lane and possibly, take you too.

I was not very fond of my birthdays in my childhood because i felt more comfortable in my school uniform than in the new birthday dress. The idea of standing in front of the whole class and telling that it was my birthday, and holding a box full of chocolates was not very entertaining. I felt like a clown being applauded for his dress sense! In spite of these feelings, at the end of the day, i used to feel good because people treated me like a VIP just because i was born on this date a few years ago.

By the end of my primary education, i almost gave up the idea of celebrating birthday at school, but then i had to shift to a different school, where, for the first time cupid struck me (the same cupid who was murdered by Nikhil recently πŸ˜€ ). On the very first day in my new school, there was a girl’s birthday. And she looked like an angel from a special heaven made just for me. So, to share that special heaven, I had to dress up for an occasion. What better time could i ask for, than my birthday! It was supposed to come soon.

At last, the day came. For the first time, i felt like the dress and i were born together and re-united after so many years. I demanded my father that i should distribute Cadbury Eclairs chocolate. I was late to school and as i entered the classroom, the class teacher shot an angry glance, but became merry immediately upon seeing me in a colorful dress. Later the whole class sang for me, and after distributing chocolates, my day was normal. In the lunch break, this very girl came to me with a hand-made paper greeting, bearing the sweetest words i can ever remember – “Happy Birthday Greetings to a Lovely Friend.” Later in life, i could relate such feeling to only one song – “Pehla Nasha” (Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikendar). I considered that my first birthday present.

Next few years were not very eventful, but i did not hate birthdays again. One reason because, it would be a fun-filled day ending with a dinner in some restaurant. Another reason being that i got a few valuable gifts. My mom presented me with a Fastrack Watch on my 17th birthday and it was just the way i like it – metallic, macho and yet, simple. On the next, when i entered adulthood, i cursed the university for scheduling the exams on my birthday.

I was feeling bad when my 19th one also fell between exams. I was preparing for my fourth semester subject Control Systems, when my father came home in the afternoon and asked me if i was done with the preparation. I was confident about the subject and told him so. He asked me to join him on some important work and took me off on Outer Ring Road. I had no idea about what was in store until i found myself standing with a widely open mouth in front of Bajaj Showroom. He booked a bike for me, the one which i love to flaunt anywhere, anytime – Bajaj Avenger (Feel like GOD). My joy knew no bounds. I could not believe it when i learnt that my dad had kept it a secret even from my mom. No other day would have been as good as this for the purchase. And for the delivery of the bike, there came a day which is equally rejoiced in my household – my brother’s birthday – 2 weeks later. Added to this, my friend gifted me with a perfect key-chain for my bike – my name (Harsha) carved out of teak and superbly polished.

And coming to present tense. Hurray! its exactly the stroke of midnight as i type this! Happy Birthday to me! πŸ™‚ I was the first person to wish myself :D. And as for the gift which is to come tomorrow today, i too am in the dark. (I am guessing it to be something that i don’t have now.)

P.S : I take pride in saying that i share my birthday with the great vocalist pandit Sri. Balamuralikrishna. (Its a different matter altogether, that i don’t share anything else with him πŸ˜› )

33 thoughts on “Hello Tweens!

  1. Many many happy returns of the day!!!! πŸ™‚
    the day i landed in to ur blog its ur Bday!!!..awesome
    n i have nt ever read a bday post as good as this πŸ™‚
    From teens to tweens!! πŸ™‚
    I love to celebrate bday at school ,the day all my frns flock around me fort sweets πŸ˜€

  2. I never have celebrated my birthday at school… It’s to the beginning of summer holidays, so my friends are always on holiday!! 😦

    however, I wish many many happy birthdays in the rest of ur life!!! πŸ˜‰

    *KISSESSSSS, DARLING!!!*

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY HARSHA !!

    Wow! Tweens!!

    This post reminded me of my birthdays at school. One guy had given me a hand made greeting card too!

    Fast Track watch to Bajaj Avenger !

    Stay cool! Happy partying!! Hurrayy!! πŸ˜€

  4. @ Rekha : WELCOME thank you for being here and the valuable comment! πŸ™‚ its a stunning sensation to celebrate amidst people who are happy for you and i am having the same feeling now.

    @Smallstar : This is the first time after two years that i don’t have any exams on my birthday. So, let us all know about your birthday, and we’ll have a virtual celebration in WordPress… πŸ™‚

    @Priya : Was that guy blushing when he approached you with a card? coz guys tend to blush (in spite of trying hard to avoid it :D) when we gift a gal or are gifted by one (generally). Partying should start off by evening. and thanks a lot for the wishes! πŸ™‚

  5. @harsha: my birthday was on 7th June, and I was so happy… ’cause every birthday for me is to become a year old, and I wanna be 18!!! (another year and I’ll be!! Hurray!!) πŸ˜€ I’m glad to celebrate my birthday in wp, with ya all, also if so belately!! *LOVELY HUGZZ*

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AGAIN!!
    Hey..it will b gud to celebrate bday at school…UNFORTUNATELY, i never celebrated even one as it used to cum during summer holidays…but then i used to celebrate with my frnds n family….as u said going to restaurant by the end of the day…
    ANYWAYS…HAVE A NICE DAY…ENJOY!!

  7. Avenger bday boy! Pretty neat! πŸ™‚

    Happy birthday to you,
    happy birthday to you,
    May God bless you,
    Happy birthday to Harsha…

    From old friends and new,
    May God bless you,
    Happy birthday to Harsha… πŸ˜›

    Cut cute cakes, sing sweet songs and have a blast!

    Did that hand made greeting card girl wish you? πŸ™‚

  8. good post… i used 2 lik my bday celebrations at school….coz it ws one of the reason 2 skip assignments…. an it ws an excuse 2 d neatness leader… N TERS 1 IMP REASON …. i dint celebrate al my bdays at school in my 10 yrs of schoolin only 5…remainin 4 in d hospital…n 1 at HAMPI(excursion)…. πŸ™‚

  9. @Apoorva : it must have been more fun to know how many of them actually felt good for you if you had your bday in the holz…! anyways… we can always celebrate it now… no matter if its in holz… πŸ™‚

    @RJ : thnx a lot mate πŸ™‚ it felt good to imagine as if u were singing the song urself. and the girl didn’t wish me this time. infact, she didn’t wish me since i left school 😦 . i guess that only my color dress makes a bday when u r in school πŸ˜€

    @Sharan : and when u r in engg coll, ur bday falls in xam season too 😦 . and i dont think u are falling sick very often now πŸ˜›

  10. my my my….. i really keep thinking around…. how can people really pen down thr thoughts(irrespective of past present or future)….is it so easy…. i nvr experienced it though…. life n birthdays ……. is it a real celebration for evry birthday were u grow older ….n get closer to end(death).

  11. @anupam : if you wanna think that way, then i must say yes! because you feel happy that you won’t be going through the same year again and growing old means new adventure deeper into life. and as all adventures come to a beautiful end, the full stop of life is made by death – the product which comes as a 1+1 free offer with birth! Its so good of you to think so high about birth – death relationship. cheers! πŸ™‚

  12. Yippie birthday !!!
    I have lost countless counts of my birthday falling between exams and now its nothing more than a usual day to me.

    But….I enjoy everyday as if am a mayfly πŸ™‚

    Enjoy till the last drop.

    Oh…angelic girl in schooldays, though its for a short time but still teh best moments.

  13. @T : yup enjoy till the lastdrop is wht i did yest… on the whole i slept only for about 5 hours… day was quite fine and thank god! no xams this time πŸ™‚
    Angels keep appearing frequently… but i tend to think that everyone came for me… only to find that the’re gonna send the best for me sometime later πŸ™‚

  14. Dude, first I apologize. I am sorry for not replying for so long. But then I was trying to put it off. All those excuses I gave you about not finishing it were false.

    Secondly, I don’t think you need me as your friend anymore. I should have felt happy for you when you wrote this. But all I could feel was the immense jealousy considering the fact that I have never received a gift on my birthday(i.e. excluding the new dress) while you have experienced moments of utmost joy.

    Once again, I am sorry dude.:(

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Sorry for the delayed comment here, but I was held up… Have a wonderful day, and a wonderful tween!! πŸ˜€
    it’s not that bad… And for me, personally, I prefer my “birthday suit” to any clothing! πŸ˜‰

  16. @Anniyan : dude, if jealousy is what you have for me, i’d be glad to accept the fact bcoz, i’ve been fighting my jealousy of you for the gift life has gifted u, and i am, as u know i am. And Late comment doesn’t matter when u wished me first among frnz! πŸ™‚

    @Nikhil : “Birthday suit” is the best way to celebrate birthday πŸ˜€ one thing coz, u get the natural feel of your birthday πŸ˜› and another being, you dont have the headache of searchin for clothes that match you πŸ˜€
    Thnx a lot for the wishes. i cudn’t ask for more, even if it was delayed. I am treasuring all the comments in this page πŸ™‚

  17. Belated Happy Birthday! So what was your gift this year.

    I am sure getting a bike as surprise gift (it was cool!) has spoiled your expectations. πŸ˜›

    And you studied with Nikhil and were struck by same cupid. Interesting. πŸ™‚

  18. @Chakoli : Welcome to Su. thank you very much for the greetings… celebration was fun this time…

    @Poonam : yup… a bike as a surprise gift was cool… and that too in between exams… πŸ™‚

    This time the gift was Sony Ericsson W810i mobile phone. πŸ™‚ this is my first mobile. so it adds to the fun…

    @Vishesh : a warm welcome to you too to Su. so, how many cancerians have u come accross in the blogosphere…? πŸ™‚

  19. hey belated happy birthday! Late or not, wishes arewishe! and u write very well, i almost went to your classroom where u were distributing your seets! (though i dont like eclaires much!)

    πŸ™‚

  20. @Sakhi : Welcome to Su. Thnx a lot for the wishes. They were late, but they were sweet. πŸ™‚
    Lemme make a guess why u dont like eclairs… is it bcoz they are sticky ur mouth becomes a mess…? πŸ˜›

  21. Pingback: The Celebration Continues… « Su

  22. Happy Belated Birthday man:-) …looks like you are also a part of VTU….coz its known for screwing everyone’s happiness, especially by keeping exams during Christmas and New year…hope you did well in your exams πŸ™‚

  23. @nikhil prabhu : Welcome to Su.Thnx a lot man… u guessed it right… i AM in VTU… πŸ˜€ i was elated to celebrate my bday after two years and so it deserved a big celebration… πŸ™‚

  24. Pingback: Welcome Reader! « Su

Leave a Reply

